What are Job Alerts?
Job Alerts are essentially a smarter job posting. As a job seeker, you will only see job alerts that you are qualified to apply for. This saves you the time of sifting through lots of jobs for which you may or may not be qualified.
What makes me qualified to view a Job Alert?
Employers choose a very specific set of criteria when creating their Job Alert. If your profile contains matching criteria, you’ll have access to that alert.
Matching criteria include:
- Skill (e.g. UT (Ultrasonic)
- Membership (e.g. CDL, Military Affiliation)
How will I know that I have a new Job Alert?
If your profile contains matching criteria, the employer’s job alert will be visible to you when you log into RTT. And, depending on how you’ve set up your notification preferences, you’ll also receive an email, a text message or both, informing you that a new job alert is visible in your Surehand account.
How do Job Alerts work?
Click on a job alert to see its details. These may include things like type of position (contract, permanent, or callout), location, pay/salary information, technical qualifications, and a job description.
If you like what you see, you can let the employer know you are interested and message them. Or you can just select Not Interested and the employer will be notified automatically.
How will I know if the employer is interested in me for the role?
Employers will message you directly if they are interested in speaking with you about the position.
Will I know if the employer has rejected me?
Not directly. However, if the employer chooses another candidate or withdraws the job alert, your job alert will be labeled Closed.
How soon will I be messaged that there is a Job Alert?
If you’ve set up your notifications, you’ll receive a message the same day as the Job Alert is published.
If you have turned off notifications, you’ll need to log in to the RTT app in order to check your Job Alert status.
Below is a step-by-step walk-through of how to use Job Alerts:
If an employer creates a job alert that you are qualified for, you will see a notification at the bottom of your screen.
Job alerts are divided into four groups:
- Jobs you haven’t viewed yet
- Jobs you have indicated you are interested in
- Jobs you have indicated you are not interested in
- Jobs that the employer has closed
Click on a job alert to view its details.
Click the thumbs-up button if you are interested in the position.
A pre-formatted message will appear that you can send to the employer indicating your interest. You can edit this message if you like.
The employer will also see that you’ve indicated your interest in their job alert feed.
If you are not interested in the job, just click the thumbs down button and the employer will be notified that you are not interested in being considered for the job.